Mixtape of the Month: March 2017

Hey friends! Soooooo, this has been a really weird month for me, in terms of music. I started listening to some more alternative stuff early in the month, and then listen to just Lorde and Newsboys (like old school Newsboys) for the rest of the month. Which is quite a strange combination, but I loved it.

Hopefully you like it too!

1.”Down”- Marian Hill

This song is really simple, and I really like it because of that fact. It’s got a cool vocal cut (I think that’s what it’s called) in the chorus, which I personally enjoy, however I know some people dislike that.

Favorite Lyric: Everywhere I look are people’s hands; Thrown up in the air to help them dance; Come on baby, catch me if you can.

2. “Flesh Without Blood”-Grimes

This song is quite the opposite of that. I haven’t listened to any of Grimes’ other tracks, so I can’t vouch for those, but I love this song. It’s so upbeat, and has an almost 70’sish or 80’sish feel to it. Almost. Definitely not 80’s, but you can hear some influences.

Favorite Lyric: After all I just don’t like you; It’s nice that you say you like me; But only conditionally.

3. “Green Light”- Lorde

AHhhhhhhh. I love Lorde so much! And this new sound is sooooooo good! I love how raw and real she is. This song is definitely different from her other stuff, and feels much more mature. “Royals” was such a simple song, and this song I think is complicated, in a good way.

Favorite Lyric: Those great whites, they have big teeth; Hope they bite you; Thought you said that you would always be in love; But you’re not in love no more

4. “Bridges”- Broods

If I’m being really nit-picky, the verses in this song, are not my favorite. However, the chorus is soooo, I don’t know how to describe it. This is going to sound trippy, but it sounds like lavender and baby blue. I don’t know if that makes sense, but that’s what it sounds like to me.

Favorite Lyric: And we’re burning all the bridges; Burning all the bridges now 

5. “Your Love Is Better Than Life”- Newsboys

I grew up listening to Peter Furler Newsboys, so when I finally decided to start listening to them again, these sound like my childhood. I love the verses especially in this song because they’re much faster and sound different from other Christian music.

Favorite Lyric: I dunno how I can end a prayer, then turn on a friend;
I dunno what I was thinking when I just pressed send

6. “Ribs”- Lorde

This song. I love this song. So. Much. This and the next song, sound just like high school to me. This song makes you think of good memories and makes you feel very reminiscent. Even if you don’t fully relate to what she’s singing about, you understand it.

Favorite Lyric: We can talk it so good; We can make it so divine

7. “Liability”- Lorde

Ughhhhhh. This song has to be my favorite for the month. It’s the realest song. Lorde has talked about it feeling like high school, and I couldn’t agree more. It’s how you feel when you don’t get invited to something, or someone you like doesn’t say hi to you. It’s the quintessential song for feeling sorry for yourself, and I love it.

Favorite Lyric: He don’t wanna know me; Says he made the big mistake of dancing in my storm; Says it was poison

8. “400 Lux”- Lorde

This song is much happier. This song reminds of bus rides to school and early sunrises. Again, this is such a high school sounding song. And maybe it’s because Lorde was so young when she released Pure Heroine, but the whole album is so relatable  to me. That’s such a cliche thing to say, but it’s so true.

Favorite Lyric: I love these roads where the houses don’t change; Where we can talk like there’s something to say; I’m glad that we stopped kissing the tar on the highway 

9. “Reality”- Newsboys

I have always loved this song. It’s so ridiculous, and I used to laugh at it, and I still do sometimes, but I love the vibe it gives off. I also love songs that tell stories, and this song obviously does.

Favorite Lyric: Mom and Dad; I am fair, how’s life?; Lent the money you sent me; To a clown with a knife

10. “Tremble”- Mosaic MSC

I first heard this song at Liberty University, and I have fallen in love with it. It’s such a real worship song, and I love that it doesn’t hold back. It’s such a glorifying song. I highly recommend it.

Favorite Lyric: Jesus, Jesus, You make the darkness tremble; Jesus, Jesus, You silence fear

Hope you enjoy them!

-Julie

Leave a Reply

